## FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Marcos Marchena, Chairman Sidney Calloway, Vice Chairman Martha T. Lanahan, Secretary Gabriel Bustamante Marshall M. Criser III James W. Holton Bart R. Pullum David A. Straz, Jr. Janet Watermeier



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 10, 2007

CONTACT: SALLY PATRENOS

(850) 414-4105

## Marchena Elected Chairman of the Florida Transportation Commission

Marcos Marchena was elected Chairman of the Florida Transportation Commission (FTC) during its December meeting in Tallahassee. Chairman Marchena, 49, the senior partner of Marchena and Graham, P.A., a law firm located in Orlando, was first appointed to the Commission in 2004 and was recently reappointed by Governor Crist. He succeeds James W. Holton of Madeira Beach, who served as Chairman from 2005 through 2007.

Other officers elected were Sidney Calloway, 48, Vice Chairman, and Martha Lanahan, 42, Secretary/Treasurer. Calloway, a partner in the law firm of Shutts and Bowen, LLP, resides in Plantation and has served on the Commission since December 2001. Lanahan is the North Florida Area Executive and Jacksonville President for Regions Financial Corporation. She is a Jacksonville resident and was appointed to the Commission in January 2006.

The Florida Transportation Commission, a nine member governor appointed board, was created by the Legislature in 1987 as an oversight body for the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT). The Commission's oversight authority was extended to most of the state's expressway, tolling and transit authorities by the 2007 Legislature. It is responsible for providing leadership and policy guidance in meeting the state's overall transportation needs. The Commission evaluates the performance, production and fiscal management of the FDOT and the authorities and makes recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature on issues of statewide importance.