#### FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

# **MINUTES OF MAY 25, 2005**

## **MEETING NUMBER 149**

The one hundred and forty-ninth meeting of the Florida Transportation Commission was held Tuesday, May 25, 2005 at the Sawgrass Resort Marriott, 1000 PGA Tour Boulevard, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. Chairman Durden called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

#### ATTENDANCE

Members in attendance were: Commissioners Earl Durden, Jim Holton, Janet Watermeier, Sidney Calloway, Gasper Lazzara, Marcos Marchena and Gabriel Bustamante. Absent: Commissioner David Straz.

## **MINUTES**

Minutes of the March 8, 2005 Commission Meeting were approved.

#### CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

# Chairman Durden reported on the following:

- Welcome Commissioner Gabriel Bustamante. Commissioner Bustamante is managing director of RSM McGladrey, Inc. in Coral Gables.
- The Commission sponsored a productive Federal Reauthorization Fly-In to Washington, DC on March 9 and 10. Many Commissioners and Transportation partners met with federal transportation officials and key Congressman to discuss Florida's most important transportation funding priorities.
- Commissioner Watermeier is currently participating in the FTP Sustainable Financial Structure/Funding Drafting Group meetings.
- Commissioner Calloway has made presentations to a number of organizations over the past two months; the Broward County MPO, the South Florida Regional Planning Council; the Southern Business Alliance, and the Florida Planning and Zoning Association.

Mark Reichert gave a brief update to the 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter Performance Report.

## LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

Sally Patrenos gave the legislative update.

## AGENCY REPORT

Secretary Abreu gave the agency report.

- Secretary Abreu discussed the issues regarding the legislative session.
- Personnel issues as of June the department will be losing three District Secretaries: Rick Chesser, Aage Schroeder and Ken Hartmann. The following

- have been hired as the new District Secretaries: Jim Wolfe, District 4 Secretary; Charles Baldwin, District 2 Secretary; and Don Skelton, District 7 Secretary.
- The Department should receive \$928 million in hurricane reimbursements according to USDOT Secretary Mineta.

# TRANPORTATION FUNDING PLAN FOR GROWTH MANAGEMENT

Ysela Llort, Assistant Secretary, Intermodal Systems Development, gave an update on the plan.

Please refer to the Florida Transportation Commission website (<a href="www.ftc.state.fl.us">www.ftc.state.fl.us</a>) under "Presentations Made Before the Commission at Commission Meetings" to view this presentation.

## FEDERAL TRANSPORTATION BILL REAUTHORIZATION

Lowell Clary, Assistant Secretary, Finance and Administration gave an update on the Federal Transportation Bill Reauthorization.

#### **TOLL TRUCK-WAYS**

Robert Poole, Director, Transportation Center, The Reason Foundation gave a presentation on Toll Truck-ways.

Please refer to the Florida Transportation Commission website (<a href="www.ftc.state.fl.us">www.ftc.state.fl.us</a>) under "Presentations Made Before the Commission at Commission Meetings" to view this presentation.

#### XPRESS LANES ON URBAN INTERSTATES

Jim Ely, Executive Director, Turnpike Enterprise and Kevin Hoeflich, Project Manager, Turnpike Enterprise gave a presentation on Xpress Lanes.

Please refer to the Florida Transportation Commission website (<a href="www.ftc.state.fl.us">www.ftc.state.fl.us</a>) under "Presentations Made Before the Commission at Commission Meetings" to view this presentation.

# JTA/INTELLIGENT TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS INTEGRATION AN ITS PLANNING MODEL

Michael Blaylock, Chief Executive Officer, Jacksonville Transportation Authority gave a presentation on the Jacksonville ITS Program.

Please refer to the Florida Transportation Commission website (<a href="www.ftc.state.fl.us">www.ftc.state.fl.us</a>) under "Presentations Made Before the Commission at Commission Meetings" to view this presentation.

# **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no public comments.

# **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Commissioner Marchena made the motion for the following nominations: Chairman – Jim Holton, Vice Chair – Janet Watermeier, Secretary – Sidney Calloway. Commissioner Lazzara seconded. A vote was called and the officers were appointed as nominated with unanimous votes.

The meeting adjourned at 12:0	0 p.m.	
MINUTES APPROVED	AS READ	AS AMENDED
THIS	S 7 <sup>th</sup> DAY OF DECEME	BER 2005
	CHAIRMAN	

**NOTE:** If further detail of these proceedings is required, please contact Commission staff at 850-414-4105 or write to 605 Suwannee Street, Mail Station 09, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0450. Meetings of the Florida Transportation Commission are recorded on video and audiotape.