FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Martha Lanahan, Chair Bart Pullum, Vice-Chair Garrett Walton, Secretary Thomas Conrecode Ronald Howse Marcos Marchena Joseph Mazurkiewicz Manuel Rose



Charlie Crist Governor

For Immediate Release: January 7, 2010

Contact: Sally Patrenos (850) 414-4105

Lanahan to Lead Transportation Commission

Tallahassee- During their December meeting in Tallahassee the Florida Transportation Commission (FTC) unanimously elected Ms. Martha "Marty" Lanahan as Chairman for the coming year. Ms. Lanahan was first appointed to the Commission in 2005 by former Governor Jeb Bush, and was recently reappointed by Governor Charlie Crist for a second term, ending in September 2013. She is the North Florida Area Executive for Regions Financial Corporation and is an active member of the Jacksonville community. Among her many civic and cultural activities, she serves as President of the Cultural Council of Jacksonville, President of the Florida Theater Board, President of the River Club Board of Directors, and is on the Board of the Jacksonville Museum of Modern Art.

Commissioner Bart Pullum of Navarre, Florida was also elected to the office of Vice Chairman. Mr. Pullum has served on the FTC for three years and is a real estate broker with Bill Pullum Realty, Inc. He serves on the Navarre Beach Area Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee, the Pensacola Junior College Board of Governors, and the Navarre Family YMCA Board of Directors.

Pensacola resident, Garrett Walton was selected to continue in his role as the FTC Secretary. Commissioner Walton, a retired tax attorney from the law firm of Emmanuel, Sheppard & Condon, is currently self-employed, dealing primarily in real estate development and investments. Mr. Walton is also highly involved as an active member of the community, serving a variety of civic and charitable causes.

The Florida transportation Commission was first established in 1987 by the legislature to provide performance, production and fiscal oversight of the Florida Department of Transportation and to make policy recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature. In 2007 the nine-member commission's statutory responsibilities were expanded to cover oversight of most of the tolling, expressway and regional transportation authorities in the state. There are also two of the state's transit agencies under their authority, Tri-Rail in Palm Beach, Broward and Dade Counties, and the LYNX transit system in the Orlando area.