FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Jay Trumbull, Chairman Ken Wright, Vice-Chairman Beth Kigel, Secretary John Browning Donnie Ellington Maurice Ferré Katherine Frazier Ron Howse Jim Sebesta



Rick Scott Governor

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 15, 2015

CONTACT: Florida Transportation Commission (850) 414-4105

Florida Transportation Commission Appoints Swanson to Top Post

Tallahassee - The Florida Transportation Commission (FTC) has appointed Brad Swanson as the Commission's new Executive Director. Swanson replaces Bob Romig, who will be leaving the FTC to pursue opportunities in the private sector after more than 35 years of service to the State of Florida.

Swanson comes from the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) where he was serving as the Freight, Logistics and Passenger Operations Administrator, leading the Secretary's initiatives related to strategic investments in global-trade infrastructure as they relate to aviation, seaport, rail, freight, and transit solutions. Swanson is focused on maximizing job creation through these intermodal investments which are growing Florida's economy for families and visitors. Prior to serving at FDOT, Swanson spent the majority of his career working in the private sector for organizations that promote Florida's free market and economic development opportunities.

Jay Trumbull, Chairman of the FTC, welcomes the addition of Swanson to the Commission stating "...Swanson's business and economic development background combined with his recent focus on Florida's leadership within global trade sectors supports Governor Scott's initiatives to create more jobs for Florida. Additionally, his experience will help the Commission in our efforts to promote and recommend leading transportation policies for Florida to compete in the economy of the future."

The Florida Transportation Commission is an appointed body that provides performance and fiscal oversight of the FDOT, and makes transportation policy recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature.
