## FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Ron Howse, Chairman
Jay Trumbull, Vice-Chairman
John Browning
Richard Burke
Julius Davis
David Genson
Teresa Sarnoff



Ron DeSantis Governor

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 19, 2019

CONTACT: Ralph Yoder (850) 414-4105

## Former Commissioner, "Mayor" Maurice Ferré Passes Away

Tallahassee – Following the passing of former Florida Transportation Commissioner Maurice Ferré, the Florida Transportation Commission (FTC) recognizes his contribution to the State of Florida and the state's transportation network.

Mayor Maurice Ferré was appointed by Governor Rick Scott to the FTC in June, 2011. He served the FTC faithfully until his term ended in September, 2018. In 2017, Mayor Ferré was inducted into the Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR) Transportation Hall of Fame.

Chairman Ron Howse, who served with Mayor Ferré his entire tenure on the FTC stated, "Maurice was a fierce advocate for Florida's transportation network. His love for his family, our state, the City of Miami and commitment to public service was the hallmark of his life."

The FTC approved a proclamation in 2018 to honor Mayor Ferré's service. In the proclamation, Jay Trumbull, the FTC chair at the time stated the following: "I hereby recognize, Maurice A. Ferré, for the positive and lasting impact he has made on his community, the State of Florida and the Florida Transportation Commission."

The FTC extends deepest sympathies to the Ferré family as they reflect on the life of a great public servant.

###

The Florida Transportation Commission is an appointed body that provides performance and fiscal oversight of the Florida Department of Transportation, and makes transportation policy recommendations to the Governor and the Legislature.