

## FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

# Florida Transportation Commission Minutes of Meeting

Date: March 6, 2023 Time: 1:00 pm Location: Burns Building Auditorium, Tallahassee, FL

# In Attendance:

Chairman Ron Howse, Vice-Chairman David Genson, Commissioners John Browning, Richard Burke, Julius Davis, Alex Lastra and Rusty Roberts

# Call to Order and Chairman's Opening Remarks:

Chair Howse called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

## Approval of Consent Agenda and Meeting Minutes

On a motion by Vice-Chairman Genson and seconded by Commissioner Browning, the consent agenda was unanimously approved, which included the meeting minutes from December 8, 2022 and February 2, 2023.

## Florida Department of Transportation Agency Update:

- Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) Secretary Jared W. Perdue provided an agency update.
  - The Department's focus on community-centric project development and delivery.
  - FDOT's participation in trade mission to Brazil.
  - Toll relief program saved SunPass customers over \$37 million during January 2023.
  - FDOT Priority Safety project developments.
  - Challenges from continued population growth.
  - Moving Florida Forward initiative.
  - FDOT's proposed fiscal year 2023/2024 budget \$14.7 billion.

## **Statewide Public Hearing on the FDOT Tentative Work Program:**

In accordance with the FTC's statutorily mandated responsibilities, Chairman Howse opened the floor for Ralph Yoder, Executive Director to explain the Tentative Work Program and to present the staff analysis of FDOT's Tentative Work Program.

## Districts, Turnpike, and Rail Enterprise Presentation of Work Programs:



The Chairman invited each district secretary and leadership of the Turnpike and Rail Enterprise to give an overview of their respective work programs. The following district secretaries and directors were present and heard:

- John Kubler, Interim District One Secretary
- Greg Evans, District Two Secretary
- Tim Smith, Director of Transportation Development, on behalf of Phillip Gainer, District Three Secretary
- Gerry O'Reilly, District Four Secretary
- John Tyler, District Five Secretary
- Stacy Miller, District Six Secretary
- David Gwynn, District Seven Secretary
- Nicola Liquori, Turnpike Enterprise
- Kenyatta Lee, Rail Enterprise

Secretary O'Reilly is retiring in 2023. He was recognized by the Florida Transportation Commission for his service to the Florida Department of Transportation.

#### **Public Comment:**

Chairman Howse asked for any public comment, and if anyone in the audience had any comments to make regarding issues they wanted to bring up before the Commission.

There were no public comments.

The Chairman then asked for a motion to accept Commission staff's recommendation that the Tentative Work Program was found in compliance with applicable laws and departmental policies. On a motion made by Commissioner Davis to accept Commission staff's recommendation and seconded by Vice-Chairman Genson, the Florida Transportation Commission unanimously approved staff's recommendation on a roll call vote.

#### **General FTC Issues/ Business:**

Chairman Howse asked Executive Director Yoder if he had any general FTC business that needed to be discussed. Executive Director Yoder briefed the Commissioners on upcoming meetings of the Commission.

#### Adjournment:



Chair Howse adjourned the meeting at 4:38 p.m.