FLORIDA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

MINUTES OF: March 24, 2022

Teleconference Call

Attendance:

Members on the call were: Chairman Ron Howse, Vice-Chairman Jay Trumbull, Commissioners John Browning, Richard Burke, Julius Davis, David Genson, Alex Lastra, and Rusty Roberts.

Call to Order and Chairman's Opening Remarks:

Chairman Howse called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Commission Business Discussed:

- At the request of Chairman Howse, Executive Director Yoder provided an overview of the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) Secretary search process.
 - The Florida Transportation Commission (FTC) is responsible for nominating three candidates for Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation to the Governor.
 - The Governor appoints the Secretary from the three nominees.
 - The position was advertised from February 18, 2022, through March 11, 2022.
 - The position was advertised on People's First, the FDOT and FTC webpage, as well as through various industry partners, including:
 - TEAMFL
 - Floridians for Better Transportation
 - The Florida Transportation Builders Association
 - The Center for Urban Transportation Research
 - The Florida Metropolitan Planning Organization Advisory Council
 - The Florida Engineering Society
 - The FTC received a total of 24 applications, 13 of which have transportation-related experience.
 - Staff prepared a one-page summary of each candidate based on their resume.
 - Copies of the 13 transportation-related applications were provided to Commissioners.
- Chairman Howse referenced a checklist provided to Commissioners that highlights the candidates different experience levels.
- Chairman Howse and the Commissioners discussed the resumes received for FDOT Secretary.
 - Following robust discussion, it was the consensus of the Commission that the FTC would select nominees from a variety of backgrounds, including one internal FDOT candidate, one candidate with federal experience and one candidate with FDOT and industry experience.

- On a motion by Vice-Chairman Trumbull and seconded by Commissioner Browning, the FTC unanimously approved the selection of Jared Perdue.
- On a motion by Commissioner Lastra and seconded by Commissioner Roberts, the FTC unanimously approved the nomination of Alice Bravo.
- On a motion by Commissioner Genson and seconded by Commissioner Davis, the FTC unanimously approved the nomination of Marcus Lemon.
- On a motion by Commissioner Burke and seconded by Vice-Chairman Trumbull, the FTC unanimously approved submitting the three selected candidates, Jared Perdue, Alice Bravo and Marcus Lemon, to Governor DeSantis for consideration.
- Chairman Howse asked Executive Director Yoder to send letters to all the applicants, and to send a letter to Governor DeSantis, including the resumes for the three selected candidates.
- Once Governor DeSantis makes an appointment, the new FDOT Secretary will be invited to the next FTC in-person meeting.
- Executive Director Yoder informed the Commissioners that a calendar of proposed inperson and virtual meetings was developed based on the input from Commissioners following the recent survey.
 - \circ $\,$ The calendar will be shared during the next FTC meeting.

Public Comment:

• Chairman Howse asked for any public comments. No public comments were provided.

Adjourn:

Chairman Howse adjourned the conference call at 10:45 a.m.