I.I DEPARTMENT OVERVIEW



The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) is responsible for coordinating a safe and viable statewide transportation system and assuring compatibility between all of the system's components and multimodal facilities. This 10.1 billion dollar agency serves almost 20 million citizens and over 90 million visitors annually in the third most populous state in the nation. Florida's transportation system includes state and local roads, air transport, railways, seaports, spaceports,

bus transportation, and cyclist and pedestrian transportation.

As mandated, FDOT is an executive, decentralized agency that reports directly to the Florida Governor, and is supervised by the Florida Transportation Commission (FTC), a nine-member commission charged with providing leadership and policy guidance on state transportation needs, as well as oversight and accountability of FDOT operations. FDOT civil engineers are responsible for planning, designing, operating, and maintaining the Florida's transportation systems, such as bridges and highways, and are also responsible for managing larger projects, such as airports, seaports, and mass transit systems. As of June 2014, the FDOT provides infrastructure support for:

- 12,079 miles of state roadways and 6,703 bridges
- 109,750 miles of non-state roadways and 5,356 bridges
- 30 urban and three rural fixed-route public transit systems, including six fixed guide way systems
- 2,793 miles of railways
- 15 seaports and 3,475 miles of waterways with shipping and intra-coastal and inland routes
- 779 airports, including 734 general/private aviation, 26 military, 18 commercial, and one joint military/commercial facilities
- two spaceports and five active launch facilities

The FDOT Central Office is located in the Florida State Capital of Tallahassee and is led by the Transportation Secretary (see **Appendix A** for the agency's organizational chart). The agency is organized into seven districts (see **Appendix B** for a map of FDOT's

districts), each managed by a District Secretary, and has a Turnpike and a Rail Enterprise led by a Director. Major divisions in each District include Administration, Planning, Production, Operations, and Public Information.

