FTC / Members

Florida Transportation Commission Members

Picture of a Florida Roadway
FTC Commissioners FTC Overview

Ronald Howse, PE, Chairman, Cocoa

Chairman Ronald Howse

President of Real Deal Development Group, an Engineering and Land Planning company. Former Councilman for the City of St. Cloud, Board Member of the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council, Board Member of the Kissimmee/Osceola County Chamber of Commerce, and Assistant Director of Public Works for the City of Altamonte Springs. Involved with many civic organizations over the years. Appointed for a term beginning January 14, 2022 and ending September 30, 2025.

David B. Genson, PE, Vice-Chairman, Naples

David B. Genson

President of Development with Barron Collier Companies, one of the largest diversified companies in Florida with successful enterprises in agriculture, land development, and minerals. David has been with Barron Collier Companies for 22 years and has been involved with numerous commercial, industrial and land development projects across Florida, including the Town of Ave Maria. He is also currently serves on the Collier County Housing Authority which he has serving on since 2013. Appointed for a term beginning December 23, 2020, and ending September 30, 2022.

John Browning, Jr., East Palatka

John Browning, Jr.,

John Browning is the VP of New Projects for The Goodman Company, headquartered in West Palm Beach, Florida; founded in 1960 in Allentown, Pennsylvania. It has actively and successfully developed regional malls and power centers throughout Pennsylvania, Florida, New Jersey, Virginia and Ohio for over five decades. The company was an early pioneer in the development and management of regional and super-regional malls. John is also the President of Browning Packing and Browning Consulting. Appointed for a term beginning December 23, 2020, and ending September 30, 2023.


Richard Burke, Ponte Vedra

Richard Burke

Richard Burke serves as a director of US Ecology, Inc., a NASDAQ-listed integrated environmental services company, and is a member of its audit and compensation committee. He previously served as Chairman of the Board and CEO of Advanced Disposal Services, Inc. (2012-2020), a NYSE-listed integrated environmental services company that was merged into Waste Management, Inc. in 2020. Richard also previously served as President and CEO of Veolia Environmental Services North America Corp. (Veolia), a waste management company (2007-2012), responsible for U.S. and Canada. He began his employment with Veolia in 1999 as Area Manager for the Southeast Wisconsin area and served as Regional Vice President for the Eastern and Southern markets. Prior to joining Veolia, Richard spent twelve (12) years with Waste Management, Inc. in a variety of leadership positions. He currently serves on the board of the Environmental Research and Education Foundation and K9s for Warriors. Richard holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Randolph Macon College. Appointed for a term beginning October 1, 2019, and ending September 30, 2023.


Julius Davis, Lutz

Julius Davis

Julius Davis is President and CEO of VoltAir Consulting Engineers, a privately-owned corporation, that affords mechanical, electrical, plumbing, and fire protection engineering design services for commercial building types with offices in Tampa and Orlando, Florida and Houston, Texas, serving clients throughout the United States. Julius has more than 20 years of experience in all phases of electrical engineering services such as building interior/exterior lighting, power distribution and generation, and specialty systems such as voice/data and security for a variety of building types including airports, hospitals, correctional facilities, schools and office buildings. Appointed for a term beginning June 29, 2018, and ending September 30, 2021.


Alex Lastra, Miami

Alex Lastra

Alex Lastra is the founder of Desarrollo Florida LLC, a real estate development firm based in Miami. A life-long Floridian, Alex’s parents immigrated from Cuba in the early 1960’s and settled in Miami and quickly became active in the local real estate and construction industries. Throughout his career, Alex has worked on developments with a value well in excess of $1.0 billion consisting of all product types. From 2003 through 2018, Alex served as one of the founding partners and the Senior Managing Director of Atlantic Pacific Development, a privately-held real estate development firm with projects and assets in Florida and California. Alex was responsible for the overall direction of the company and all real estate development and construction activities. Prior to founding Atlantic Pacific Development, Alex worked at the Related Group of Florida. During his tenure at Related Group, Alex was a Senior Project Manager responsible for all aspects of real estate development, including taking projects from the conceptual phase through design development, entitlement, construction, leasing and disposition. Alex is a State of Florida Licensed General Contractor and is active with the Latin Builders Association (LBA) serving as the organization’s President from 2016-2018. Appointed for a term beginning May 21, 2021, and ending September 30, 2023.


Rusty Roberts, Longwood

Rusty Roberts

Rusty Roberts has specialized in transportation related policy issues in both the public and private sector for three decades. Now in private consulting practice, he served for 18 years as Chief of Staff for former House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Chairman, Congressman John Mica of Orlando, and he was previously Chief of Staff for Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of Miami. He began his congressional service in 1981 as the South Florida District Director for U.S. Senator Paula Hawkins. In 2013 he joined Brightline Trains Florida as their Vice President of Government Affairs, serving in that role until 2020. Before joining Brightline, Mr. Roberts was Managing Director of the Transportation and Infrastructure Practice at BGR Government Affairs in Washington, DC. Appointed for a term beginning January 14, 2022 and ending September 30, 2025.